Connect with us

College Hockey

Boston, Hockey East, Wins 2022 Frozen Four Bid

The NCAA announced on Tuesday that Hockey East, TD Garden, and the Massachusetts Sports Marketing Office have been selected as hosts the 2022 Frozen Four. The NCAA men’s ice hockey championship was last awarded to Boston in 2015.

The NCAA also announced Buffalo (2019), Detroit (2020) and Pittsburgh (2021) as future hosts.

The 2022 NCAA semifinals will take place on Thursday, April 7, while the NCAA championship game will be played Saturday, April 9. The 2015 championship saw Providence College claim its first NCAA title against league rival Boston University on the TD Garden ice.

“The entire Hockey East family is thrilled to once again be hosting the Frozen Four with our friends from TD Garden,” said Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna. “The memories from 2015 remain strong and we look forward to hosting the college hockey world in 2022.”

The TD Garden previously hosted the Frozen Four in 2015, 2004, and 1998, while Boston has served as host on four other occasions, including three straight years at the old Boston Garden from 1972-1974, while the Boston Arena (now Northeastern University’s Matthews Arena) hosted Boston’s first Frozen Four in 1960.

Mike McMahon is in his 12th year covering Merrimack College for The Eagle Tribune and is the founder and managing editor of The Mack Report. Mike also serves on staff as a senior writer at College Hockey News. Follow him on Twitter @MikeMcMahonCHN

Click to comment


2018-19 Men’s Hockey Schedule

5 - vs. Lake Superior State (7pm)
6 - vs. Lake Superior State (7pm)
27 - vs. UMass (Homecoming) (7pm)

28 - vs. Denver (7pm)
31 - vs. Colorado College (4pm)

22 - @ UMass Lowell
23 - vs. UMass Lowell

Date Undetermined
TBD - @ Bentley
TBD - vs. Holy Cross

More in College Hockey

error: If you would like to re-distribute our content, please e-mail for permission.