BC’s Jerry York Leads U.S. Hockey Hall Class

Photo: USA Hockey

Jerry York, college hockey’s all-time winningest coach, leads the 2020 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame induction class, it was announced today.

York joins former North Dakota and Nebraska-Omaha coach Dean Blais, current Wisconsin coach Tony Granato, and women’s hockey standout Jenny Potter in the induction class.

York is the third Boston College head coach to be inducted, joining Len Ceglarski and Snooks Kelley. Last year, York was enshrined in the overall Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, the first person to coach exclusively in college hockey to be so honored. York is headed into his 49th season as an NCAA coach, following stints at Clarkson and Bowling Green. He has 1,091 career wins, and has won national championships in 1984 with Bowling Green, plus 2001, 2008, 2010 and 2012 with Boston College. York also had 64 goals and 70 assists for 134 points in his 81 games for the Eagles as a player from 1964-67.

About Mike McMahon 6236 Articles
Mike McMahon is in his 13th year covering Merrimack College for The Eagle Tribune and is the founder and managing editor of The Mack Report. Mike also serves on staff as a senior writer at College Hockey News. Follow him on Twitter @MikeMcMahonCHN

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.