Home Hockey East Hockey East officially announces move back to eight-team playoff

Hockey East officially announces move back to eight-team playoff


BOSTON — The Hockey East Association announced today the new playoff format for the 2019 Hockey East Tournament at the league’s annual media day held at TD Garden. Just eight teams will advance to the playoffs and compete in one round of best-of-three series on campus sites March 15-17. The winners move on to the TD Garden for the 35th annual championship weekend, March 22-23.

“The new format will only amplify the value of our 2018-19 regular season,” said Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna. “Given our recent history, we expect a slim margin between those who make the playoffs and those who will not. The fans will be among the beneficiaries of this change as competition down the stretch is certain to be intense.”

For the first time since 2012-13, just eight of the 11 programs will qualify for the playoff tournament. The four highest seeds will earn hosting duties for the quarterfinal round, welcoming seeds five through eight on campus. The four winning teams will then be reseeded and enter the TD Garden on March 22-23 for the 35th annual Hockey East Championship.

Ticket information for the tournament will be made available at a later date.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.