Home Men's Hockey Collin Delia Named 2017 TMR Player of the Year

Collin Delia Named 2017 TMR Player of the Year


Merrimack junior goaltender Collin Delia has been named the 2017 TMR Player of the Year, as voted on by readers of The Mack Report.

Delia, who is a finalist for the Hockey Humanitarian Award, which will be handed out this week at the Frozen Four in Chicago, posted a .927 save percentage for the Warriors this season and a 2.15 goals-against average.

After returning from an injury in his first game of the season against Clarkson, Delia posted a 2.06 GAA and a .930 save percentage in 20 games. His .928 save percentage in Hockey East games was tied for the league lead.

Delia becomes the fourth goaltender to win the award in the 11-year history of the TMR Awards, following in the footsteps of Rasmus Tirronen (2015), Joe Cannata (2012) and Jim Healey (2007).

Delia was also named the 2017 TMR Most Improved/Comeback Player of the Year and joins Johnathan Kovacevic as a double award winner in 2017.

Merrimack will unveil its official team awards at the team banquet next week (April 11).

2017 TMR Unsung Hero Award Voting

1. Collin Delia – 33.0%
2. Hampus Gustafsson – 30.9%
3. Brett Seney – 28.7%
4. Johnathan Kovacevic – 6.7%
5. Write-in votes – 1.1%

Previous TMR Unsung Hero Award Winners

16-17: Collin Delia
15-16: Brett Seney
14-15: Rasmus Tirronen
13-14: Mike Collins
12-13: Mike Collins
11-12: Joe Cannata
10-11: Stephane Da Costa
09-10: Stephane Da Costa
08-09: Rob Ricci
07-08: Matt Jones
06-07: Jim Healey

2017 TMR Award Winners

Player of the Year: Collin Delia
Unsung Hero Award: Jonathan Lashyn
Best Defenseman: Johnathan Kovacevic
Best Defensive Forward: Tyler Irvine
Most Improved/Comeback Player: Collin Delia
Fan’s Award: Brett Seney
Rookie of the Year: Johnathan Kovacevic

Mike McMahon is in his 13th year covering Merrimack College for The Eagle Tribune and is the founder and managing editor of The Mack Report. Mike also serves on staff as a senior writer at College Hockey News. Follow him on Twitter @MikeMcMahonCHN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.