Dan Parkhurst Wins Hockey East’s Concannon Media Award

BOSTON – Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna announced on Tuesday at the league’s annual media day that Dan Parkhurst has been named the 22nd recipient of the prestigious Joe Concannon Hockey East Media Award. Parkhurst, who will again call UNH hockey games on television and radio for 2013-14, will also call select games for NBC Sports Network in the coming season.

In addition to his broadcasting work, the 2013-14 season will mark Parkhurst’s 17th year as Hockey East’s website designer and coordinator. Parkhurst, a 1993 graduate of the University of New Hampshire, assists in the league’s public relations efforts with multimedia solutions, as well as with day-to-day online efforts and game-night updates.

Parkhurst’s broadcasting career is long and varied beginning with his years as a student-manager with the UNH hockey team when he also called games for UNH’s student-radio station. During the 1997-98 season he called the Hockey East Online Game of the Week, one of the first online broadcasts of college hockey on the internet.

He then called three seasons (1998-2001) of Merrimack College hockey and basketball while also calling select UNH hockey games for New Hampshire Public Television. Beginning in the fall of 2001, Parkhurst became the full-time play-by-play voice for NHPTV, a position he held until 2008 when the station ceased broadcasting UNH hockey games.

Starting in 2007, Parkhurst also became the primary radio voice for UNH hockey. He will begin his seventh season calling Wildcat games on the radio for Learfield Sports while transitioning to television broadcasts produced by UNH Athletics for a number of home games. From 2006 through 2012, Parkhurst called a variety of regular season college hockey games and also worked six NCAA college hockey tournament regionals for ESPNU. In 2008, he traveled with Boston College to provide radio play-by-play for the Eagles at the Frozen Four during their national championship run. Parkhurst has also called games for NESN, including the 2013 Women’s Hockey East Championship game. The 2013-14 season will mark his second year calling select college hockey games for NBC Sports Network.

Parkhurst is the owner of SportDesigns.com a web design and e-commerce company. An avid golfer and musician, he resides in Conway, N.H., with his wife Lynn and their two children, Jonathan (20) and Riley (14).

The award was renamed in memory of long-time Boston Globe Sportswriter Joe Concannon in 2001. Each recipient has demonstrated a superior body of work in covering and promoting Hockey East over an extended period.

The Hockey East Association is an 11-team Division I college men’s hockey conference founded in 1984 and an eightteam Division I women’s league which began play in 2002-03. The men’s league has won eight NCAA championships in the past 20 years. Since 1999, Hockey East has won six NCAA Championships and have placed 21 teams in the Frozen Four, along with 56 teams in the NCAA Tournament.


1992 Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News
1993 Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network
1994 Bob Monahan, Boston Globe
1995 John Connolly, Boston Herald
1996 Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun
1997 Bob Norton, New England Sports Network
1998 Joe Concannon, Boston Globe
1999 Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network
2000 Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio
2001 Dave Hendrickson, U.S. College Hockey Online
2002 Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald
2003 Bernie Corbett, Giant Sports Associates
2004 Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio
2005 Eric Frede, NESN / CodRock Media
2006 Dan Hannigan, Maine Radio / CodRock Media
2007 Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader
2008 Mike Logan, Providence College Radio
2009 Bob Ellis, UMass Lowell Radio
2010 Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network
2011 Mike Machnik, Merrimack Radio, CHN & USCHO
2012 Jim Connelly, U.S. College Hockey Online (USCHO)
2013 Dan Parkhurst, UNH Radio/TV & Merrimack Radio


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.