Home Men's Hockey Dennehy named College Hockey News Coach of the Year

Dennehy named College Hockey News Coach of the Year


From College Hockey News

Merrimack’s Mark Dennehy and Western Michigan’s Jeff Blashill have been named College Hockey News’ Co-Coach of the Year. Like the Rookie of the Year honor, the race was extremely tight. It’s the first time CHN has honored double recipients.

Dennehy and Blashill beat out Union’s Nate Leaman, North Dakota’s Dave Hakstol, Notre Dame’s Jeff Jackson and Nebraska-Omaha’s Dean Blais — four others who were also in the running.

Merrimack finished 25-10-4 this season, fourth in Hockey East. The Warriors made the Hockey East tournament championship game, losing to Boston College, 5-3. They also qualified for the NCAA Tournament for the first time since joining Hockey East, and first time overall since 1988. Merrimack lost to Notre Dame, 4-3 in overtime, at the Northeast Regional last weekend.

This is Dennehy’s sixth season at Merrimack. His teams won nine games the first two years combined. Dennehy, who was named Hockey East Coach of the Year last season, played at Boston College from 1987-91, and later was an assistant coach at Princeton and Massachusetts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.