Men's Hockey

Jonathan Lashyn Takes Home 2017 TMR Unsung Hero Award

Photo: Merrimack Athletics

Merrimack senior defenseman Jonathan Lashyn has been named the 2017 TMR Unsung Hero Award winner, as voted on by readers at The Mack Report.

Lashyn was a fixture on Merrimack’s blue line this season, appearing in 34 games and registering six assists. In his Merrimack career, he appeared in 142 games over four seasons, scoring four goals and adding 26 assists for 30 points.

Lashyn’s biggest impact was in front of the net and along the boards, where he regularly out-muscled opponents to win pucks and clear the front of the net. This was on display most in a pair of games against Boston University this past January, where Lashyn was often matched up against 6-foot-5, 230-pound forward Jordan Greenway, a second-round pick of the Minnesota Wild, and limited him to zero points in a pair of Merrimack wins.

Lashyn becomes the first defenseman to win the Unsung Hero Award since Adam Ross in 2011.

2017 TMR Unsung Hero Award Voting

1. Jonathan Lashyn – 40.3%
2. Michael Babcock – 23.9%
3. Mathieu Tibbet – 19.4%
4. Jared Kolquist – 9.0%
5. Write-in votes – 7.5%

Previous TMR Unsung Hero Award Winners

16-17: Jonathan Lashyn
15-16: Michael Babcock
14-15: Kyle Singleton
13-14: Clayton Jardine
12-13: Rhett Bly
11-12: Carter Madsen
10-11: Adam Ross
09-10: Pat Bowen
08-09: John Jamieson
07-08: Adam Ross
06-07: Matt Byrnes

2017 TMR Award Winners

Player of the Year: TBA
Unsung Hero Award: Jonathan Lashyn
Best Defenseman: Johnathan Kovacevic
Best Defensive Forward: Tyler Irvine
Most Improved/Comeback Player: Collin Delia
Fan’s Award: Brett Seney
Rookie of the Year: Johnathan Kovacevic

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top