Sources: Hockey East Finalizes 12-Team Playoff Format

According to three sources, Hockey East has finalized details for its 12-team playoff format, which will begin this upcoming season.

The league’s 12 athletic directors vote on the format, which will be similar to last season with some exceptions:

– Each of the league’s 12 teams will earn a berth in the Hockey East playoffs

– The top-4 teams will receive first-round byes, with the remaining seeds playing as follows, with the higher seed hosting: 5 vs 12; 6 vs 11; 7 vs. 10; 8 vs 9.

– The first round will be a best-of-3 series (it was a single-elimination game this past season).

. The quarterfinal round will be a best-of-3 series.

– The semifinal and final will both be single elimination, and will continue to take place at TD Garden in Boston.

1 Comment

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Hockey East Confirms 12-Team Playoff Format - The Mack Report

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.