Men's Hockey

Stephane Da Costa named to All-Hockey East 35th Anniversary Team

The Hockey East Association today unveiled the All-Hockey East 35th Anniversary Team, comprised of the league’s top 35 forwards and top 35 defenders, including defensemen and goaltenders, as voted on by fans, the league’s head coaches, officials and media members. Former Merrimack College men’s ice hockey All-American Stephane Da Costa was listed among 70 of the all-time greats in league history.

Da Costa was one of the most dynamic skaters in program history and one of the top players of the Division I/Hockey East era after his unforgettable two-year run from 2009-11. He was named a second-team All-American in 2011, becoming the first Merrimack player to earn that honor since 1998.

An All-New England and Hockey East All-Star, Da Costa anchored Merrimack’s best team in its Division I history in 2010-11, picking up 31 assists and 45 points, as Merrimack won a school-record 25 games, advanced to its first-ever Hockey East Championship and was selected to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since joining Hockey East.

In two seasons at Merrimack, Da Costa tallied 90 points in 67 games. He went on to sign a two-year National Hockey League (NHL) contract with the Ottawa Senators and appeared in 47 career NHL games with 11 points (7g, 4a) before spending the majority of the last five seasons in the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL), where he has averaged nearly a point per game over that span.

Merrimack had two honorable mentions on the list: Brett Seney ’18, who was a third team all-star selection last winter and spent most of this season with the NHL’s New Jersey Devils, as well as Joe Cannata ’12, who graduated as a Hockey East First Team All-Star and is the program’s all-time leader for wins, total saves, games played and minutes played and has played professionally every season since 2011-12, helping the Colorado Eagles win the ECHL title last summer.

The Hockey East 35th Anniversary Team was chosen by a fan vote and votes from Hockey East’s 35th Anniversary Committee, which included representatives from each Hockey East school, members of the media, and the league’s head coaches.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top