Home Men's Hockey Stoever Invited to Prestigious Warren Strelow National Goaltending Camp

Stoever Invited to Prestigious Warren Strelow National Goaltending Camp

Photo: NAHL

Merrimack goalie recruit Christian Stoever has been invited to USA Hockey’s prestigious Warren Strelow National Team Goaltending Camp. The camp, which features many of the top United States goaltenders eligible for international play, opens Tuesday (Aug. 14) in Plymouth, Michigan, at USA Hockey Arena. The camp is named after the late Warren Strelow, a former NHL goalie coach who served in that same capacity for the 1980 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey Team.

For the first time in camp history, USA Hockey invited current professionals to participate in the camp, allowing them to prepare for their upcoming season while also creating an organic mentorship for the next generation of future NHL American goalies. Ironically, former Merrimack goaltender Collin Delia is one of the pro goalies attending the camp. Other pros include Jimmy Howard (Detroit Red Wings), Zane McIntyre (Providence Bruins), Phoenix Copley(Washington Capitals) and Charlie Lindgren (Montreal Canadiens).

The camp will be led by Thomas Speer, U.S. National Team goaltending coach, Phil Osaer, American Development Model goaltending manager at USA Hockey, and regional scouts Brennan Poderzay and Jared Waimon. In addition, camp senior staff will include Joe Exter (assistant coach, Michigan State University), David Lassonde (assistant coach, Dartmouth University/U.S. National Junior Team), Kevin Reiter (director of player personnel, USA Hockey NTDP) and Nick Petraglia (assistant coach, Miami University of Ohio). Additional camp coaching staff include Peter Aubry (Chicago Blackhawks), Scott Clemmensen (New Jersey Devils), Jeff Salajko (Detroit Red Wings), Alex Westlund (Washington Capitals), Mike Buckley (Pittsburgh Penguins), Larry Clemens (Janesville Jets), Brian Eklund (Boston University), Michael Garman (Chicago Steel), Karl Goehring (Tampa Bay Lightning), Brian Renfrew (Winnipeg Jets), Josh Robinson (Florida Everblades), Dave Rogaliski (St. Louis Blues) and Zach Cisek (University of Notre Dame).

Mike McMahon is in his 13th year covering Merrimack College for The Eagle Tribune and is the founder and managing editor of The Mack Report. Mike also serves on staff as a senior writer at College Hockey News. Follow him on Twitter @MikeMcMahonCHN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.